Georgia SoftWorks

Understanding Secure Shell Server Security Algorithm Categories

SSH Server Security Algorithms Categories and Lists

The main categories of Security Algorithm are:

You may also create your own custom list of algorithms from the available algorithms. This gives you the flexibility to restrict connections to only certain strength algorithms or to allow only specific legacy algorithms or any combination thereof.

GSW determines the best available algorithms for each category at each release. The list of algorithms setup at installation for each category is called the “GSW Default Algorithms list”. No configuration is required to use the GSW Default Algorithms.

The FIPS 140-2 Enabled list is a list of algorithms that does not include any algorithms that are not supported by FIPS 140-2. When you Enable FIPS 140-2 and restart the SSH service, the FIPS 140-2 Enabled list is activated. The FIPS 140-2 Disabled is a list of all the algorithms available.

In some cases, there is no difference in the algorithms available for FIPS 140-2 Enabled and Disabled. We call this list “All Available Algorithms”. Not surprisingly, it is also used to refer to all the available algorithms.

If the empty string is configured for the value, then you get the complete list of algorithms available based on the FIPS 140-2 setting.

Watch to Understand Secure Shell Server Security Algorithm Categories

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

The new value will take effect when the GSW SSHD service is restarted

Back to SSH Server FAQ

Document Number: FAQ-SSH-EX016001081519